top of page

East African Telehealth Journey

Experience from Uganda -

Victor Alochi

A challenge to telehealth services


As an occupational therapist working with people living with long term neurological conditions, I have had to change the way that I engage with my clients during the coronavirus. Some tell me that their life has not changed apart from the common difficulties of getting out and engaging in everyday tasks and things that are important to them.


Others tell me on the phone that they are “fine”, but I feel limited, I can’t see their eyes, or faces on the telephone. I have to find other ways to know if they are fine or not. I experienced one sad case, a client of mine, who was ill for two weeks during the total lockdown period in Uganda said she was fine on the phone. She did this so as not to worry her son, sadly, she passed away four days later.

“The eyes of a Ugandan are in their hands; they only believe after seeing or practically touching or being touched.” (Ugandan Proverb).

As an OT, I love engaging with people in a meaningful way which is a key role. When I speak with my colleagues and friends, they say that they are liking the new ways of working and using telehealth. They mentioned it has been convenient, instead of the lengthy, inconvenient, and time-consuming trips to the hospital, they can offer the service from home. This has enabled to remove the barrier of distance and one can remotely deliver therapy interventions and enhance clinical support in the local communities. This from their perspective has improved access to specialized services, opened opportunity to learn, reduced the feeling of isolation for clinicians in the rural settings and last but not least helped maintain progress in their clients.


For some, they miss the personal touch that comes with physical therapy sessions, they say this cannot be achieved by a phone call or video conferencing. The eyes of a Ugandan are in their hands; They only believe after seeing or practically touching or being touched. (Ugandan Proverb). I have at many times called a client and what they tell me is “okay, we shall see when you come or when the lockdown is lifted.” They don’t believe that through a phone call, a service is being rendered.


Also, some say they encounter difficulties while using technological devices.


Conclusion


The use of Telehealth is expanding quickly in Uganda and it carries great benefits. It is a helpful and safe model of service delivery for many healthcare providers; however, it comes with its fair share of challenges such as cost, practitioner competence, and reimbursement.


Victor Alochi

OTWB, Country Manager Uganda

Founder and director, Ebenezer

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page